The three scientific institutes of the Space Pole, under the supervision of the Belgian Federal Science Policy Office (BELSPO), work together within an international framework to study our planet and its environment, to understand the influences of the Sun on the Earth and to further discover the starry sky and the cosmos.

To this end, they develop, test and use new measuring instruments and data processing methods.


logo KSB1


Royal Observatory of Belgium (ROB)



Logo Koninklijk Meteorologisch Instituut


Royal Meteorological Institute (RMI)



Logo Koninklijk Belgisch Instituut voor Ruimte-Aeronomie (BIRA)

Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy (BIRA-IASB)



The three institutes of the Space Pole have a common history and present their activities to a general public in the Planetarium of Brussels.


  Link to BelSpo